A Level results day! Oh, it brings back memories…

This week is dominated by A level results day for me.

I had a fab class of 7 year 13 physicists this year. A lovely group to teach. 5 boys, 2 girls. Very good at helping each other and working together. Lots of support when some students struggled with certain aspects of the course.

Results day was the usual mix bag. One student got an A*. Super proud of him. He’s been such a consistently good and hard working student and really deserves it. Delighted that he’s off to manchester uni to study physics. That’s where I got my degree and I had a great undergraduate experience.

2 other fantastic students got As. One of those is also going to uni to do physics, but I’m not sure what uni he decided on in the end.

A couple of them may be disappointed with their results. I’ve advised them to take a bit of time to think about their options. Obviously speak to uni first and see what they say. There’s lots of support from school and many other sources. No need to rush any decisions and if they end up following a different path from the one they thought they would travel along, it may end up being a great thing.

I remember getting my results very well. I got an A in maths and narrowly missed out on A grades in two of my subjects (physics and history) by a couple of points in each case. I was advised to have papers remarked to try and pick up the marks I needed, but I didn’t. I’d got into uni, so why would I care! I wish I could go back and tell my 18 year old self to do it. But hey ho.

Just for fun, here’s a picture of me going off to uni.

image

It does not feel like 17 years ago!

I want to wish all my year 13 class the best of luck with their futures. I’m proud of all of you! Please do let me know how you get on with whatever you do next. πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in A level and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Level results day! Oh, it brings back memories…

  1. audsley says:

    Oh dear. I’ve prematurely aged myself. It’s only 16 years ago πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. nichola says:

    Aw well done to you and your class. I am inspired to write about my memories of exam results days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

