Not drowning, but feeling the land slip from under my feet…

The biggest new challenge for me this year is how to keep on top of my workload and keep the weekends work-free for my little boy. He’s just started school at 4 years and 2 months old. A little one.  The biggest change for him is not getting his two ‘mummy days’ during the week. So he wants my attention at the weekend and of course, I want to spend some lovely, relaxing time with my family.

He doesn’t understand that I want to mark 31 books by Sunday night and that my amazing year 10s have produced loads of amazing work for me to look at. He doesn’t know I’m teaching A level physics to a specification for a different exam board to the one I’m used to. To 12 and 13 at the same time so planning time is increased.  And that I have tests to mark too. And homework to mark and… and… and… all the usual teacher stuff.

Added to this, I’m arriving later to school and having to leave earlier due to different childcare arrangements and a house move. All entirely my own fault, I understand this. I know my choice to have a family is the key factor in causing me this work-life balance stress. I’m not enjoying feeling constantly that I should be working instead of playing with my children.  Equally, I want to do the best I can for the children I teach.

This isn’t a workload whinge, it’s the start of an action plan! I’ve already identified that as they get older, I’ll get more time to mark while sat at the side of gymnastics club or some other activity. And if someone could make the nearly two year old sleep though the night, I imagine that would greatly help! *yawn*

I need some strategies to help me get through it all more efficiently. Top tips, teacher friends?

This entry was posted in books, General, planning and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not drowning, but feeling the land slip from under my feet…

  1. Monica says:

    I loved reading your post. As a physics teacher that is also a mom, I feel your struggle in being pulled many ways. First, cut yourself a break! Being a mom brings other skills to your teaching that may have not been there before (more understanding for students trying to balance everything, better time management, more love for your students). Second, live will get better in about 2 more years. It’s either I’ve figured it out more or my kids are at an age that is less demanding. Third, you are showing your child that a mom can be a strong person in the workforce. My daughter imagines all that she can be as an adult because she sees me doing it every day. Good luck finding the balance and try to enjoy every day of the madness!

    Like

Leave a Reply

